SEMA Aids 68 Students

SEMA Member News—September/October 2011

SEMA Aids 68 Students

Scholarship and Loan-Forgiveness Awards Announced

Students preparing for careers in the automotive industry were eligible to receive financial awards ranging from $1,000–$4,000 through the 2011 SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund.

“Paying for a high-quality education is a challenge for many, particularly in today’s tough economy,” said Jamie Eriksen, SEMA education director. “SEMA is pleased to play a part in helping students prepare for careers in an innovative and exciting industry.”

Since its inception, the fund has assisted hundreds of students as they pursued careers in the industry. Awards are granted to eligible applicants based on academic achievements, work experience, community involvement, essay content and recommendations. Loan-forgiveness awards are also available to recent graduates who are working for SEMA-member companies and paying off existing student loans.

A total of 68 winners were awarded. For 2011, 56 scholarships were provided to those pursuing careers in the industry, and 12 loan-forgiveness awards were presented to qualified employees of SEMA-member companies.

In all, $112,000 in SEMA Scholarship awards were granted. An additional $29,400 award was presented by Ohio Technical College to James Seeley, who will be attending the school this fall.

Congratulations to the 2011 recipients!

Scholarship Awards

Samuel Ames, Brigham Young University-Idaho

Kirk Barber, Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis (Wheel and Tire Council Award)

Wayne Bontrager, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Joseph Book, Universal Technical Institute of Arizona Inc.

Brian Botts, California Baptist University (Performance Warehouse Association Award)

Yana Briggs, Art Center College of Design (Phil Weiand Award)

Lucas Campbell, Saint Cloud Technical College

William Cannon, California State Polytechnic University Pomona (K&N Engineering Award)

William Carpenter, Pennsylvania College of Technology (Joseph B. Amato Ward)

James Carter, Jefferson State Community College
(Jim Borre Award)

Meghan Chamberlain, Oakland University

Adam Clay, Auburn University Main Campus (Melvin Burton Award)

Cayle Christian Damrow, University of Wisconsin-Stout
(Harlan Felder Award)

Shelley Derks, California State University-Northridge (SEMA Businesswomen’s Network Award)

Chad Ediger, McPherson College

Matthew Enniss, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Gregory Finke, Pittsburg State University (Lund Award)

Justin Florence, Bellingham Technical College (Yee Award)

Daniel Fourie, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Gary Gamertsfelder, Luna Vocational Technical Institute

Joshua Greenplate, Pennsylvania College of Technology

Charles Grospitch, University of Northwestern Ohio (Motorsports Parts Manufacturers Council Award)

Kalila Haddad, McPherson College

Mandar Hazare, Clemson University (Steve Woomer Award)

Dylan Hellman, The Art Institute of Colorado (Thurston Warn Award)

Isaac Hostetter, Pennsylvania College of Technology

John Hunn, Missouri University of Science and Technology (Dan Borre Award)


Nina Hunter, Weber State University

Jeffrey Jagusch, Northwood University

Benjamin Kadron, Western Washington University (Street Performance Council Award)

Amy Kao, Carnegie Mellon University

Donovan Krehbiel, Kansas State University (Dee Zee Award)

Kelly LeClair, Stark State College of Technology (Professional Restylers Organization Award)

Kevin Leparski, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
(Wally Parks Award)

Daniel Linda, Clemson University

Sean Lockard, West Virginia University

Sean Lorentzen, Marymount College (John Raffa Award)

Andrew Mattord, University of Northwestern Ohio

Christopher Meyers, School of Automotive Machinists

Bradley Miller, Pennsylvania College of Technology (Manufacturers Rep Council Award)

Benjamin Mohn, University of Northwestern Ohio (Joe Hrudka Award)

Kale Nicodeums, Colorado State University-Pueblo

Brandon Peeler, Central Michigan University

Matiaz Perez, Texas State Technical College Waco

Zachary Prestegard, Minnesota State University-Mankato (Mike Kunzman Award)

Matthew Proctor, Weber State University

Dave Schenker, Boise State University

Michael Scruggs, Clemson University (Eastwood Company Award)

James Seeley, Ohio Technical College (OTC Scholarship)

James Smith, Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus
(Bernie Karp Award)

Konstantin Sytch, Monroe Community College

Christopher Thomas, School of Automotive Machinists (Hot Rod Industry Alliance Award)

Collin Veele, Michigan Technological University

Eli Villa, Cerritos College

Brandon Wight, McPherson College (Jeff Moses/Automotive Restoration Market Organization Award)

Caleb Yow, University of North Carolina at Charlotte  

Loan Forgiveness

Timothy Belt, University of Northwestern Ohio

Zachary Compton, Classic Instruments

Melissa Favila, Malco Products Inc.

Lance Hunter, Bully Dog Technologies
(Truck and Off-Road Alliance Award)

Abel Leon, K&N Engineering Inc.

Robert Martin, Motor State Distributing/ Lane Automotive


Corie McElwee, American Honda Motor Co. Inc.

Tara Mills, Agri-Cover Inc. (Trudy Thompson Award)

Jesse Powell, Aeromotive Inc. (Young Executives Network Award)

Kenna Primm, Roush Yates Engines (Top Student Award)

Jordan Sneathen, SEMO Classic Mustang Inc.

Lindsey White, Westin Automotive Products Inc.