SBN - The SBN Insider—The Inside Scoop on SBN Members!

SEMA Member News - September/October 2009


SEMA Member News-September-October 2009-SBNFormer SBN Chair Zan Martin Elected to the SEMA Board of Directors

Congratulations to former SBN Chairwoman Zan Martin for her recent election to the SEMA Board of Directors. Martin formerly served in leadership roles with the SBN for many years, including chair from 2001 to 2003. She received the SBN’s Athena Award in 2005 for her dedication to the professional growth of women in the automotive aftermarket. Martin operates a full-service advertising agency specializing in the automotive aftermarket. We applaud her in achieving this career goal and look forward to her valued input on the board.

SBN Competes In Pinewood Race–EdgeNet Sponsors Race Car

Last year, the SBN competed in the Pinewood Race Competition, and it was a humbling experience. At the SEMA Installation Banquet and Gala Fundraiser this year, we had an ace up our sleeves with technical assistance from Mitch Williams, immediate past chairman of the SEMA Board and president of Pilot Automotive Inc., who was cajoled into designing the 2009 car. With financial support from the entire SBN select committee and gracious sponsor EdgeNet (Big Hammer Data), the SBN was able to compete in the Unlimited Modified Class in support of two charities—ChildHelp USA and Victory Junction Gang Camp. Thanks also to SBN member Julie Helms, vice president of sales for Big Hammer Data, for responding to our call for a sponsor.

SEMA Member News-September-October 2009-SBNAmy Faulk Inducted into the NHRA Hall of Fame at 2009 Holley NHRA National Hot Rod Reunion

Amy Faulk, veteran NHRA drag racer and founding member of the SBN, was honored in June for her lifetime achievements with induction into the esteemed NHRA Hall of Fame at the Beech Bend Raceway in Bowling Green, Kentucky. Faulk was recognized for being the first woman to win a national event in an alcohol dragster and for achieving an NHRA division championship. She currently works for Hypertech in Collierville, Tennessee. Congratulations, Amy, on this wonderful honor from NHRA. Don’t slow down!

SBN Select Committee Elections Are Complete

The SBN would like to congratulate and extend a warm welcome to the new SBN select committee members who campaigned for the opportunity to give their time for the support and growth of women in the automotive aftermarket.

  • Erin Gilhuly of Toyota Motor Sales
  • Laurie Marcellus of Off-Road Adventures
  • Cheralyn Hale of Advanced Clutch Technology
  • Gigi Ho of Digital Performance Inc.
  • Mandi Woodell of Weathers Auto Supply
  • Anne Johnson of Keystone Automotive Operations
  • Nan Gelhard of Summit Racing Equipment

We also appreciate the commitment of our re-elected incumbents: Melissa Lawrence of PowerTV Media, Trina Wilson of DCi and Nancy Loetfering of Davert Tools to the Select Committee.


Network, Connect, Make a Difference—Sponsor the 2009 SEMA Speed Networking Breakfast, Powered by the SBN

Becoming a sponsor of the annual SEMA Breakfast is a wonderful way to contribute to the SEMA Scholarship Fund, make important new professional contacts and support the growth of women in the automotive industry. Open to all SEMA members, this annual event includes a great breakfast, the Woman of the Year and Athena Award ceremonies and the popular Speed Networking session that provides attendees with an opportunity to network with SEMA professionals. A portion of all money raised is donated to the SEMA Memorial Scholarship fund on behalf of the sponsoring company. Over the past two decades, SEMA Scholarships have supported over 400 students with a total of more than $1,000,000 in grants.

This year there are four levels of sponsorship, beginning with an affordable $250 level. Each offers a graduated level of company benefits and increased support for the SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund. A sponsorship form is located under the SEMA Speed Networking Breakfast link at For more details, please contact Sponsorship Chair Nancy Loetfering at 905/353-0531, ext. 34, or via e-mail at