Law & Order

EPA Takes First Step Toward Regulating 10 Chemicals

By SEMA Washington, D.C., Staff

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) identified 10 chemicals to be evaluated as potentially hazardous compounds under the new Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA). The law was updated last summer to provide the agency with new duties and powers to regulate hazardous substances and override a patchwork of state rules. Under the revised TSCA, the EPA has three years to determine if a chemical poses an “unreasonable risk” and, if so concluding, then another two years to mitigate that risk through regulations, which could include banning use of the substance.  

The agency’s full 10-chemical list:

  • 1,4-Dioxane
  • 1-Bromopropane
  • Asbestos
  • Carbon tetrachloride
  • Cyclic aliphatic bromide cluster
  • Methylene chloride
  • N-methylpyrrolidone
  • Pigment violet 29
  • Tetrachloroethylene, also known as perchloroethylene
  • Trichloroethylene

For more information, contact Stuart Gosswein at