Law & Order

Michigan Considers Implementing Road User Fee

By Washington, D.C., Staff

Legislation has been introduced to require the state to charge and collect a user fee from each registrant of a motor vehicle. The fee would come in addition to the vehicle registration tax. The user fee would be $50 for each 10,000 miles driven by the registrant during the one-year period immediately preceding a registration renewal.

The bills would require that a vehicle registrant appear in person at an office of the secretary of state at the time of vehicle registration renewal to allow the state to verify the current mileage of the vehicle, calculate and collect the user fee. 

Read more about legislation at

Additional details are available from Steve McDonald at