By SEMA Washington, D.C., Staff
Legislation has been introduced in the Wyoming legislature to increase annual vehicle registration fees by $10 for passenger vehicles and double registration fees based on unladen vehicle weight for non-commercial trucks. For example, the registration fee for a vehicle weighing 6,001 lbs. or more would rise from $60 to $120. Under Wyoming law, "passenger car" means a motor vehicle designed to carry 10 persons or less and be primarily used to transport persons, including ambulances and hearses, but excluding motorcycles, motor homes, multipurpose vehicles, trucks and school buses. Non-commercial trucks subject to the doubled registration fees include personal pickups.