Breaking News


SEMA members are encouraged to watch the mail for the SEMA Board of Directors election ballots that were mailed this week. One ballot was sent to each member company within the voting categories. This year’s election includes voting for the chairman-elect position. Questions about the SEMA Board of Directors or the election process can be sent to Christine Papavero at or 909/396-0289, ext. 123.

Current Chairman-Elect Jim Cozzie of Zoom Performance Products recently challenged the nearly 7,000 SEMA members to cast their votes in the upcoming elections. “You all get to choose who will represent you in confronting the challenges ahead,” Cozzie said during the SEMA State of the Association. “It is incumbent on each and every SEMA member to ensure the best people the industry has to offer have the opportunity to serve.”

The chairman-elect position is voted on every two years and will transition directly to the position of SEMA Chairman of the Board in 2009. Chairman-elect candidates are Wade Kawasaki of Avanche Corporation and Rick Rollins of Superchips, Inc.

In addition to the chairman and the chairman-elect, the SEMA Board of Directors includes 22 other members representing three categories: manufacturers, distributor/retailer and manufacturers’ rep. All board seats are volunteer positions and are two-year terms, with approximately half the board members’ posts expiring each year.

Candidates for the manufacturers’ category are Gale Banks of Gale Banks Engineering, Robert Bruegging of Mr. Gasket Co., David Crockett of EGR, Larry Erickson of Ford Motor Co., Doug Evans of Primedia, Dennis Gage of Bradley David Productions, Joe Hige of Turbonetics Inc., Raymond King of Federal-Mogul, Rich Sherman of Baer Brakes, Mike Spagnola of Street Scene Equipment, David Stutts of Hot Rod Air Inc. and Jeep Worthan of Auto Meter. John Menzler of Comp Performance Group is the alternate in the manufacturers’ category.

In the distributor/retailer category, the candidates are Donnie Eatherly of P&E Distributors, Don Fall of Fall Advertising, Anne Johnson of California Truck Works, Inc., Tony Napoli of American Speed Centers, Stephen Negrini of Drivers Edge Inc., Bob Price of CE Band, LLC, Mark Toebben of DCi and Van Woodell of Weathers Auto Supply. The alternate in the distributor/retailer category is Michael Roth of TRG Studios.

Individuals running for the SEMA Board in the manufacturers’ rep category are Bryan Foster of Foster Babcock & Assoc., Bill Perry of Bill Perry & Associates and Dave Wrobleski of Jim Wrobleski & Co. Jim Marino of Wes-Coast Marketing is the alternate in this category.