Legislation has been introduced to require registration plates on the front and back of all motor vehicles.
Government Affairs News
A bill to exempt a motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer that is licensed as an antique vehicle from the imposition of local license taxes and fees was approved by the Virginia Senate.
Legislation to require the issuance of a single motor-vehicle license plate for attachment at the rear of the vehicle was introduced in the Texas House of Representatives.
Oregon legislation that would have required registered owners of vehicles 20 years old and older to pay a $1,000 “impact tax” every five years was quickly killed after an onslaught of objections were lodged by vehicle owners in the state.
Legislation to provide for the issuance of a single rear-mounted license plate for certain motor vehicles was approved by the Montana House.
Legislation to allow for a single rear plate for motor vehicles that were not originally equipped with a display bracket on the front of the vehicle was not approved by the Idaho House of Representatives on a 28–42 vote.
A series of bills have been introduced in Hawaii to exempt antique motor vehicles from the state’s vehicle weight tax, reduce the weight tax for all other vehicles and decrease annual registration fees.
Join industry leaders in Washington, D.C., to tell the new congress what matters most to you!
The RPM Act of 2017 needs your support. Even if you wrote to Congress in 2016, SEMA urges all race fans and businesses to take action again. Go to www.sema.org/RPM to support the RPM Act of 2017 and secure the future of racing today!
Legislation has been introduced to repeal the two license-plate requirement for motor vehicles in New York.
Legislation to require new-car dealers to provide purchasers a written statement declaring it is illegal for manufacturers or dealers to void a warranty or deny coverage because aftermarket or recycled parts were installed or because someone other than the dealer performed service was introduced.
Legislation to allow for a single plate for motor vehicles that were not originally equipped with a display bracket on the front of the vehicle was approved by the House Transportation and Defense Committee.
Legislation has been reintroduced in Iowa to require the issuance of only a single license plate for motor vehicles.
Legislation has been reintroduced in Hawaii to increase annual registration fees, increase the gas tax and increase the motor-vehicle weight tax.
The once 13-mile racetrack is now less than eight miles long due to salt erosion.
Thanks to the efforts of the Specialty Vehicle Association of British Columbia, the province of British Columbia has again issued a proclamation designating July 8, 2017, as Collector Car Appreciation Day in the province.
In 2014, legislation to allow the Division of Motor Vehicles to issue replica year-of-manufacture plates for antique vehicles was enacted into law.
Legislation has been reintroduced in the New York Assembly to provide that historical vehicle owners only pay a one-time registration fee of $100 upon initial registration.
Legislation to create a mileage-based user fee pilot program to be implemented instead of the gas tax was introduced.
Legislation has been introduced in the Missouri Senate to require the issuance of only a single license plate for motor vehicles.
Legislation to prohibit the state or a local jurisdiction from imposing a vehicle miles traveled tax or other similar fees, tolls or taxes has been introduced.
A House Concurrent Resolution to create a mileage-based transportation funding task force to determine the feasibility of implementing a road-user fee instead of the gas tax was introduced.
Legislation to broaden the single-plate allowance to include motor vehicles which are 30 model years old or older, and reconstructed or specially constructed vehicles built to resemble motor vehicles which are 30 model years old or older was introduced.
Legislation was introduced to provide that motor vehicles registered as “secondary vehicles” and driven less than 5,000 miles per year may display only a single plate on the rear of the vehicle.
Legislation to provide that no motor-vehicle muffler or exhaust system shall emit a noise level greater than 60 decibels was introduced.