2017 SEMA Memorial Scholarship and Loan Forgiveness Award Winners Announced

in Events

SEMA News—October 2017

SEMA Events

By SEMA News Editors

2017 SEMA Memorial Scholarship and Loan Forgiveness Award Winners Announced

  SEMA Scholarship Group
The 2016 SEMA Memorial Scholarship winners at the SEMA Show with SEMA Immediate Past Chair Doug Evans (top row, far left), SEMA Chairman Wade Kawasaki (top row, second right) and SEMA President and CEO Chris Kersting (top row, right).

The SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund awarded $160,000 to 60 individuals this year, including 53 SEMA scholarships to current students and seven loan forgiveness awards to employees of SEMA-member companies.

“This year’s pool of scholarship winners represents the diversity of interests and disciplines that the automotive industry attracts,” said SEMA Board of Directors Chairman Wade Kawasaki. “SEMA is committed to offering support to the next generation of young men and women who will drive this industry for years to come.”

More than $2.2 million has been awarded to more than 1,300 deserving students since the program’s establishment in 1984. The SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund and the SEMA Loan Forgiveness Program are dedicated to fostering the next generation of automotive aftermarket industry leaders and innovators by helping them get off to a successful start in their education and automotive aftermarket careers.

Online applications for next year’s awards will be accepted from November 1, 2017, through March 1, 2018, at www.sema.org/scholarships.

For questions or additional information, contact SEMA Education Manager Juliet Marshall at 909-978-6655 or email julietm@sema.org.

2017 SEMA Loan Forgiveness Award Winners
Recipient Employer Institution Name Major Award Fund Supporter
Eric Burnett Holley Performance Products Western Kentucky University Marketing Custom Automotive Network (formerly PWA)
Collin Gentry Meyer Distributing University of Southern Indiana Education  
Grant Lago MagnaFlow Exhaust Products Arizona State University Business Custom Automotive Network (formerly PWA)
Robert Martin Motor State Distributing University of Northwestern Ohio Business Administration  
Angel Scharklet Holley Performance Products University of the Cumberlands Business Administration  
David Schenker Greenspeed Research Boise State University Mechanical Engineering  
Andrew Smallman General Motors Kettering University Mechanical Engineering  
2017 SEMA Scholarship Award Winners
 Recipient Institution Name Major Award Fund Supporter
Jennifer Allen  University of Northwestern Ohio Diesel Mechanic Leo Kagan
Albert A.  Teachers College–Columbia University Applied Mathematics  
Thomas Arlotta Marquette University Mechanical Engineering Motorsports Parts Manufacturers Council
Eduard Bertalan Spokane Community College Automotive Technology Thurston Warn
Sheldon Caldwell Cypress College Automotive Technology  
Samuel Carter Ferris State University Automotive Engineering  
Arthur Cartwright Clemson University Automotive Engineering  
Samuel Choi Georgia Institute of Technology   Computer Engineering Bernie Karp
Savannah Class Community College of Baltimore County—Catonsville Automotive Technology  
Houston Comer Georgia Institute of Technology Mechanical Engineering  
Sophia Dancel  Kettering University Mechanical Engineering Trudy Thompson
Justin Davis Indiana University—Purdue University—Indianapolis   Automotive Engineering Joe Hrudka
Nathan Day Baker College of Owosso   Automotive Technology Melvin Burton
 Luis de Casenave University of Puerto Rico—Mayaguez   Mechanical Engineering   
Jacob Denny  Northcentral Technical College  Mechanical Engineering Top Student
Austin Dowler  McPherson College  Automotive Restoration   
 Allison Elder Massachusetts Institute of Technology   Business Management  Nat Danas
Dalton Ellis Aims Community College Automotive Technology  
Almon Evans  University of Northwestern Ohio  Business Management  Manufacturers Representative Network
Benjamin Falconer McPherson College   Automotive Restoration   
 Matt Fuka University of North Dakota  Mechanical Engineering   
Scott George Utah Valley University  Auto Body—Collision Repair   
Benjamin Hoertnagl-Pereira   John Hopkins University  Computer Engineering  
Shannon Holsten Linn State Technical College   Auto Body Collision Repair  
Daniel Hott Tennessee Technological University   Mechanical Engineering  Emerging Trends & Technology Network
Adam Lecznar Kettering University   Industrial Engineering & Design   
Adeline Longstreth   Georgia Institute of Technology  Mechanical Engineering Light Truck Accessory Alliance 
Gilberto Lopez  California State University—Los Angeles  Engineering Mechanics  K&N Engineering
Stacy Mann  Kettering University  Mechanical Engineering  SEMA Businesswomen’s Network 
 Heather McCallay Red Rocks Community College  Engineering   
Summer Miller University of North Texas  Business Management Hot Rod Industry Alliance—John Menzler 
Dudley Moore The University of Alabama  Mechanical Engineering  
Peter Nelson Spokane Community College   Automotive Technology   
Hunter Pauloski  Minnesota State University-Mankato   Automotive Engineering  
Masey Peone  Washington State University  Communications  
Jeremy Peterson  University of Wisconsin—Platteville  Mechanical Engineering  
Brighid Rancour  Cleveland State University   Electrical Engineering Harlan Felder 
Stephen Redlack Clemson University   Automotive Engineering  
Asa Reini  Clemson University  Mechanical Engineering  
Chad Robbins  Saginaw Valley State University  Mechanical Engineering  
David Robles Cypress College Automotive Technician  
Joseph Rutledge Jr. Wilkes University Mechanical Engineering Custom Automotive Network (formerly PWA)
Kaylyn Sneathen University of Missouri—Columbia Information Technology Young Executives Network
Spencer Steele Bradley University Accountancy Dan Borré
Nicole Stout Indiana University—Purdue University—Indianapolis Automotive Engineering Wheel & Tire Council
Abraham Tazi Hillsborough Community College Engineering  
Taylor Toftemark Lower Columbia College General Studies Michael A. Kunzman
Lorenzo Vilches Jr. Cuyamaca College Automotive Technology Wally Parks
Brian Walker University of Central Missouri Mechanical Engineering Steve Woomer
Keaton Weingartz Kettering University Mechanical Engineering  
William White-Griggs University of Northwestern Ohio Automotive Technology Automotive Restoration Market Organization—Jeff Moses
Chase Wilderman Indiana University—Purdue University—Indianapolis Mechanical Engineering Joseph B. Amato Sr.
George Williamson De Anza College Automation Technology Jim A. Borré


Rate this article: 
No votes yet