SEMA Awards $112,000 in Automotive Scholarships to Future Industry Leaders


Contact: Della


SEMA Awards $112,000 in Scholarships to Future
Industry Leaders

DIAMOND BAR, Calif. (July 20, 2011) - SEMA is providing 68
individuals with a total of $112,000 through the SEMA Memorial Scholarship
Fund. Established to support and foster leadership opportunities in the
automotive specialty-equipment marketplace, the fund awards grants to eligible
applicants who are pursuing careers in the automotive specialty equipment
market based on academic achievements, work experience, essay content,
recommendations and more.
In addition, recent graduates working for SEMA-member companies are eligible
for funds to pay off existing student loans through the fund's Loan Forgiveness

For 2011, 56 scholarships
were provided to those pursuing careers in the automotive aftermarket, and 12
loan-forgiveness awards were presented to qualified employees of SEMA-member

Scholarship Awards

  • Samuel Ames,
    Brigham Young University-Idaho
  • Kirk Barber, Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis (Wheel
    and Tire Council Award)
  • Wayne, Bontrager, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Joseph, Book, Universal Technical Institute of Arizona Inc.
  • Brian Botts, California Baptist University, Performance Warehouse
    Association (PWA Award)
  • Yana Briggs, Art Center College of Design (Phil Weiand Award)
  • Lucas Campbell, Saint Cloud Technical College
  • William Cannon, California State Polytechnic University-Pomona (K&N
    Engineering Award)
  • William Carpenter, Pennsylvania College of Technology (Joseph B. Amato
  • James Carter, Jefferson State Community College (Jim Borre Award)
  • Meghan Chamberlain, Oakland University
  • Adam Clay, Auburn University Main Campus (Melvin Burton Award)
  • Cayle Christian Damrow, University of Wisconsin-Stout (Harlan Felder
  • Shelley Derks, California State University-Northridge (SEMA
    Businesswomen's Network Award)
  • Chad Ediger, McPherson College
  • Matthew Enniss, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • Gregory Finke, Pittsburg State University (Lund Award)
  • Justin Florence, Bellingham Technical College (Yee Award)
  • Daniel Fourie, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Gary Gamertsfelder, Luna Vocational Technical Institute
  • Joshua Greenplate, Pennsylvania College of Technology
  • Charles Grospitch, University of Northwestern Ohio (Motorsports Parts
    Manufacturers Council Award)
  • Kalila Haddad, McPherson College
  • Mandar Hazare, Clemson University (Steve Woomer Award)
  • Dylan Hellman, The Art Institute of Colorado (Thurston Warn Award)
  • Isaac Hostetter, Pennsylvania College of Technology
  • John Hunn, Missouri University of Science and Technology (Dan Borre
  • Nina Hunter, Weber State University
  • Jeffrey Jagusch, Northwood University
  • Benjamin Kadron, Western Washington University (Street Performance
    Council Award)
  • Amy Kao, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Donovan Krehbiel, Kansas State University (Dee Zee Award)
  • Kelly LeClair, Stark State College of Technology (Professional Restylers
    Organization Award)
  • Kevin Leparski, Southern Illinois University Carbondale (Wally Parks
  • Daniel Linda, Clemson University
  • Sean Lockard, West Virginia University
  • Sean Lorentzen, Marymount College (John Raffa Award)
  • Andrew Mattord, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Christopher Meyers, School of Automotive Machinists
  • Bradley Miller, Pennsylvania College of Technology (Manufacturers Rep
    Council Award)
  • Benjamin Mohn, University of Northwestern Ohio (Joe Hrudka Award)
  • Kale Nicodeums, Colorado State University-Pueblo
  • Brandon Peeler, Central Michigan University
  • Matiaz Perez, Texas State Technical College Waco
  • Zachary Prestegard, Minnesota State University-Mankato (Mike Kunzman
  • Matthew Proctor, Weber State University
  • Dave Schenker, Boise State University
  • Michael Scruggs, Clemson University (Eastwood Company Award)
  • James Seeley, Ohio Technical College (OTC Scholarship)
  • James Smith, Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus (Bernie Karp
  • Konstantin Sytch, Monroe Community College
  • Christopher Thomas, School of Automotive Machinists (Hot Rod Industry
    Alliance Award)
  • Collin Veele, Michigan Technological University
  • Eli Villa, Cerritos College
  • Brandon Wight, McPherson College (Jeff Moses/ARMO Award)
  • Caleb Yow, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Loan Forgiveness

  • Timothy
    Belt, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Zachary Compton, Classic Instruments
  • Melissa Favila, Malco Products Inc.
  • Lance Hunter, Bully Dog Technologies (Truck and Off-Road Alliance
  • Abel Leon, K&N Engineering Inc.
  • Robert Martin, Motor State Distributing/Lane Automotive
  • Corie McElwee, American Honda Motor Co. Inc.
  • Tara Mills, Agri-Cover Inc. (Trudy Thompson Award)
  • Jesse Powell, Aeromotive Inc. (Young Executives Network Award)
  • Kenna Primm, Roush Yates Engines (Top Student Award)
  • Jordan Sneathen, SEMO Classic Mustang Inc.
  • Lindsey White, Westin Automotive Products Inc.

For more information about
automotive scholarships and the SEMA Scholarship Program, contact SEMA Education Director Jamie Eriksen at

About SEMA
SEMA, the Specialty
Equipment Market Association founded in 1963, represents the $27.9 billion
specialty automotive industry of 6,461 member-companies. It is the
authoritative source for research, data, trends and market growth information
for the specialty auto parts industry. The industry provides appearance,
performance, comfort, convenience and technology products for passenger and
recreational vehicles. For more information, contact SEMA at 1575 S. Valley
Vista Dr., Diamond Bar, CA 91765, tel: 909/396-0289, or visit


Rate this article: 
Average: 1.5 (2 votes)