Dan Dolan, YEN Member Insights, May 2009

Dan Dolan, SEMA YEN Member of the Month, May 2009Name: Dan Dolan
Title: Regional Sales Manager
Company: DiabloSport, Inc.
City, State: Delray Beach, Florida
Website: www.diablosport.com

Years of employment with current company?
5

Years spent working in the automotive aftermarket?
5

How did you first begin to work in the automotive aftermarket?

I started in the industry Wilma destroyed my previous workplace. It so happened that a friend I played in a band with worked at DiabloSport and they were looking for some people that might be good on the phones- I had plenty of phone and sales experience, so as it turns out the biggest natural disaster in my life turned into the biggest opportunity of my life! I couldn't have asked for a better stroke of luck!

Did you have a mentor in the industry?
Yes

If yes, and you’re comfortable sharing, who?
Ian Gerrard at Wes-Coast Marketing is the best mentor I have had in the industry. Not only is he old enough to be my father but he really took me under his wing and explained how the industry used to work, how it's changing, and where it's at today. Ian is an interesting individual because even though he is from the old school SEMA crowd (he remembers writing orders IN the SEMA booths way back) he still gets along very well with technology and can easily interface with some like me when it comes to computers.This allowed us to teach each other a lot, which is important in any mentoring relationship- I taught him new perspectives and ideas on how technology can be used, and he taught me how the industry has been using it and what the standards are.

What is the most satisfying aspect about your work?
The ability to be challenged every day and opportunities to push the envelope in our industry. I feel that my youth gives me the chance to help steer the future of our industry, and I'm glad to be a part of that.

What are your major professional accomplishments, memberships, areas of service? 

SEMA Y.E.N, Arrow-Speed Warehouse Training Seminar of the Year 2007.

Personal information regarding marriage, children, interests:
I'm 27 years old and married with kids being in the plan for the next year or so. My main hobby is recording and producing original music in various styles ranging from metal, country, techno, gospel and pirate rap!

It may come as no surprise to those who know me that I love a good joke. One of the best jokes I've ever made happens to be in the musical forms of my pirate rap album! If you're looking for a good laugh check out all the videos and songs I've made and put up on the internet: www.myspace.com/captaindan - This is a total joke project and meant for a good time- listen only if you have a sense of humor and like to laugh!

 

Rate this article: 
No votes yet