Reception Honoring Leaders

The annual TORA awards reception was held outside in front of the South Hall on Wednesday evening immediately following Show closing. The event, which drew a jam-packed and exuberant crowd, featured the popular Pinewood Derby competition, proceeds of which were donated to SEMA Cares, and an awards ceremony.

“The TORA reception is one of the best attended events during the Show and continues to grow every year,” said Marquez. “It’s a great networking opportunity and also where attendees have the opportunity to support SEMA Cares. And it’s where TORA celebrates industry achievements by recognizing member excellence.”

Awards were presented in four categories...

Retailer of the Year, Influencer of the Year, Ron Webster Memorial Award and TORA Hall of Fame. Eastern Truck and Accessories took top honors as retailer of the year for their years of quality experience and great knowledge of the aftermarket. 

The TORA Influencer of the Year award was presented to Jason Sakurai of Roadhouse Marketing for his great contributions to the aftermarket industry.

The Ron Webster Memorial Award for Engineering Excellence is named in honor of the late founder of Guidon Truck Covers, also a founding member of the Truck Cap Industry Association/Truck Cap & Accessory Alliance (TCIA/TCAA), now TORA. The 2019 recipient of the award was John Engen of DECKED.

The TORA Hall of Fame is presented to an outstanding individual whose creativity, dignity, integrity, industriousness and accomplishments have enhanced the growth and stature of the industry. The 2019 inductee was Joel Ayres, executive director of the Automotive Aftermarket Charitable Foundation (AACF). Ayres, whose lifelong involvement in the industry includes decades as a volunteer leader, not only as an active member of LTAA and TORA, but also as far back as TCAA, as well as service on the SEMA Board of Directors. A fitting tribute to his many contributions.

We congratulate all of our 2019 TORA award recipients and invite you to check them all out at [link to TORA awards page] as well as past winners!