Syndicate content

Racing News: Mike Conway Returns to Racing With Andretti Autosport

NEW HOME: Mike Conway will return from injuries suffered during the 2010 Indianapolis 500 to drive for Andretti Autosport throughout the IZOD IndyCar Series season.

SEMA Scholarship Applications Available

Students preparing for careers in the automotive industry may be eligible to receive financial awards ranging from $1,000–$4,000 through the 2011 SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund. The scholarship application, which is due April 1 and requires college transcripts and letters of recommendation, is now available here.

SEMA News—February 2011

  SEMA News-February 2011-Industry News-Scholarship Fund

Racing News: Kurt Busch to Make Drag-Racing Debut at Gatornationals

ROOKIE DRAG RACER: Kurt Busch, driver of the No. 22 Shell-Pennzoil Dodge Charger in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, will be making his NHRA Full Throttle Series debut at the 41st annual Tire Kingdom NHRA Gatornationals March 11–13 at Gainesville Raceway.

Racing News: Lucas Oil Products Acquires Naming Rights for NHRA-Owned O’Reilly Raceway Park

NEW NAME: Lucas Oil Products has acquired the naming rights for the NHRA-owned O’Reilly Raceway Park in Clermont, Indiana. The venue will now be known as Lucas Oil Raceway.

Movers & Shakers: Jeffries to Retire from Federated Auto Parts; Vantage Awarded Patent for Rear Suspension on Wheelchair Minivan

Federated Auto Parts announced that Gene Jeffries, a 50-year veteran of the automotive aftermarket, would begin his retirement at the end of December after having worked for Federated Auto Parts distributors for the past 13 years. Jeffries began his career in the automotive aftermarket 50 years ago working as a technician and shop owner in Indianapolis. His career also includes stints with Monroe Equipment Co., Unit Parts Company and Raybestos. In 1997, Jeffries joined Federated as president, a position he held for 10 years before transitioning into a reduced schedule as director of membership development, the position he currently holds.

Racing News: Chip Ganassi Selected 2010 Economaki Champion of Champions

THE BEST: Chip Ganassi, based on his outstanding season as a car owner, was selected by the staff of National Speed Sport News as the 2010 Economaki Champion of Champions. For more, click here.

NHRA: Full Throttle Champs Pick Their BCS Bowl Favorites


CLAPP, COHEN NAMED TO NHRA BOARD OF DIRECTORS: NHRA Chairman of the Board Dallas Gardner announced that two new members have been elected to the NHRA Board of Directors—longtime NASCAR executive Ken Clapp and high-profile Los Angeles attorney Michael C. Cohen. Clapp and Cohen will join current board members Gardner, NHRA President Tom Compton, NHRA Executive Vice President Peter Clifford and NHRA Senior Vice President of Racing Operations Graham Light.

NHRA: Force, Dixon, Manzo Lead NHRA Drivers Selected For AARWBA All-America Team


FORCE, DIXON, MANZO LEAD NHRA DRIVERS SELECTED FOR AARWBA ALL-AMERICA TEAM: 2010 NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series world champions John Force and Larry Dixon headline a list of six NHRA drivers named to the American Auto Racing Writers & Broadcasters Association (AARWBA) All-America teams. Force, a four-time Jerry Titus Award winner and 15-time Funny Car world champion, three-time NHRA Full Throttle Top Fuel Champion Dixon and Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Top Alcohol Funny Car world champion Frank Manzo were named to the All American First Team. Two-time Jerry Titus Award winner Tony Schumacher and Funny Car driver Matt Hagan were named to the Second Team, while NHRA Get Screened America Pro Mod Drag Racing Series world champion Von Smith made the Honorable Mention list.

Racing News: MasterCraft Safety Purchases Impact! Racing

NEW OWNERSHIP: MasterCraft Safety has purchased Impact! Racing from founder and owner Bill Simpson. The brand will now be known as Impact! Racing by MasterCraft Safety.

NHRA: Massey Joins DSR For 2011 Season

SILLY SEASON BEGINS! MASSEY JOINS DSR FOR 2011 SEASON: Just three weeks after the season-ending Auto Club NHRA Finals at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona, the moving and shifting within the teams of the NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing series has begun, as Don Schumacher Racing (DSR) announced that Top Fuel pilot Spencer Massey will drive the Prestone/Fram dragster under the DSR banner in 2011. According to Schumacher, the addition of Massey gives his Top Fuel program three legitimate candidates for a championship in the coming season. Massey joins a stellar Top Fuel program that includes seven-time world champion and driver of the U.S. Army dragster, Tony Schumacher, and Matco Tools dragster pilot Antron Brown, who finished in the top five in point standings in 2010. This will be Massey’s second full season racing in the NHRA Full Throttle Top Fuel category. In his first in 2009, Massey won two national events (Chicago, Las Vegas 2) and went on to finish sixth in the points standings and earn the 2009 Automobile Club of Southern California Road to the Future Award, which recognizes the top performing rookie of the season.
Add to calendar