Racing News

NHRA: 2011 NHRA Full Throttle Top Fuel Champ Del Worsham Retires

TEAM SUMMIT VISITS TROOPS IN GERMANY: For the second consecutive
year, 2011 NHRA Full Throttle Pro Stock world champion Jason Line,
joined by 2010 world champion Greg Anderson, Pro Mod driver Rickie
Jones, and driver of the legendary Bigfoot monster truck, Dan Runte,
visited troops this week stationed at the Ramstein Air Force Base in
Germany. The group met with soldiers, visited with staff at the Landstuhl
Regional Medical Center and signed autographs. The drivers will head to another facility in Spangdahlem,
Germany, to visit with more troops stationed abroad. For more
information, visit

NHRA: Full Throttle World Champions Crowned



Del Worsham
Al-Anabi Racing Dragster

Round Win/Loss Record: 53–14
No. 1 Qualifiers: 7
2011 Race Wins: 8
2011 Runner-up Finishes: 3

Season Summary: After
competing 20 years in the Funny Car class, Worsham began his first full
season in Top Fuel competition by racing to the win at the Tire Kingdom
NHRA Gatornationals and the points lead. From there, Worsham held the
points lead throughout the regular season and entered the Countdown to
the Championship at the top of the Top Fuel class. Back-to-back
second-round losses in Charlotte and Dallas—the first two races of the
Countdown—bumped Worsham down to third in the standings. But with a
runner-up finish in Reading and a win in Las Vegas, Worsham clinched his
first NHRA world championship with his semifinal round win over Spencer
Massey at the Auto Club NHRA Finals in Pomona. Worsham would go on to
win the event—his eighth of the season.

Racing News: Kyle LeDuc Makes It Three of a Kind in Las Vegas

Kyle LeDuc Makes it Three of a Kind in Front of a Full House in Las Vegas
Chaplain Steve Hanson offered a somber prayer for Rick and Jeff Huseman to open the ceremonies for the latest Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series (LOORRS) race at Las Vegas Motor Speedway last weekend. The Husemans and their friend Danny Hicks died in a plane crash just three weeks prior to the race, taking away one of LeDuc Racing’s closest competitors on the track. Kevin Huseman led the Pro4 Unlimited field around the parade lap in the No. 36 truck to pay the final respect to his lost brothers.

NHRA: First- to Fifth-Place Drivers All See Their Chance for Full Throttle World Championship


WHO’S IT GOING TO BE? FIRST- TO FIFTH-PLACE DRIVERS ALL HAVE CHANCE FOR FULL THROTTLE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP:Exciting. Thrilling. Heart-pounding. These are all words that can describe the battle for the NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing world championships in both Top Fuel and Funny Car as the series makes the final stop of 2011, at the Automobile Club of Southern California NHRA Finals this weekend at historic Auto Club Raceway at Pomona. The reason for the excitement? For the first time since the NHRA Countdown was introduced in 2007, five drivers in Top Fuel and eight drivers in Funny Car all have a mathematical chance to win the world championship at the season-ending event. In Top Fuel, the talk heading into the event has been all about points leader Spencer Massey, second-place driver Del Worsham and third-place driver Antron Brown. But with fourth-place driver and defending world champion Larry Dixon 44 points out of the lead, the top four in the category are all within range of racing to theworld title.

Racing News: Cooper Reflects on MX-5 Championship; McLaren and Audi Aim for a Macau Victory

Cooper Reflects on MX-5 Championship
When your only expectations of a racing season are to continue to learn
and drive as fast as possible, the season is bound to be a success.
Indeed, a driver that takes that simple goal, grows throughout the
winter and even more during the season, and leaves 2011 as the SCCA Pro Racing Playboy Mazda MX-5 Cup champion has exceeded all expectations and is well on his way to a long and successful racing career.

Racing News: Inside Motorsports With Scott Tucker and Level 5 at Le Mans Now on Speed2

Inside Motorsports With Scott Tucker and Level 5 at Le Mans Now on Speed2
Inside Motorsports, the web-based, behind-the-scenes motorsports video series, has produced a 24-minute recap of the effort made by Level 5 Motorsports in the 2011 24 Hours of Le Mans. That program is available on, the web channel maintained by the cable TV network SPEED. Throughout the 2011 racing season, Inside Motorsports and host Diana Binks
have been following Level 5 as they competed in the American Le Mans
series for the Intercontinental Le Mans Cup. In June, Level 5 competed
in the 24 Hours of Le Mans for the first time as a team. That journey is
the subject of the program now available through Speed2.

NHRA: Points Leaders Swapped as Countdown Gets Ready for Las Vegas



Funny Car driver Jack Beckman knew he had the car to beat Sunday. As the
part-time drag-racing school instructor slowly but surely marched up
the ladder during Sunday eliminations at the NHRA Arizona Nationals at
Firebird International Raceway, Beckman knew that his chances for a
repeat win in Phoenix were high. What came as a shock for the Southern
California native was what came with his third win of the season—the
Funny Car points lead.

NHRA: Drivers Within Point Leads Look to Grab Top Spots in Phoenix


Car driver Mike Neff is in a position he hasn’t experienced much this
year. After leading the points since the Houston event, the fifth race
of the season, Neff saw his advantage disappear two weeks ago in
Reading, Pennsylvania, when a second-round finish moved Matt Hagan past
him and into the top spot. Now, as the NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing
Series makes its fourth stop in the Countdown to the Championship at the
NHRA Arizona Nationals this weekend, Neff is looking for some of that
mid-season success that kept his Castrol GTX Ford Mustang in the lead
for so long.

Racing News: Team Falken's 'Dai' Yoshihara Crowned 2011 Formula Drift Champion

Team Falken's 'Dai' Yoshihara Crowned 2011 Formula Drift Champion
At the final event of the Formula Drift season, Team Falken veteran Daijiro “Dai” Yoshihara,
driving the Discount Tire/Falken Tire Nissan 240SX, took his first
championship in the Formula Drift series, completing a year which saw
either his name or that of his teammate, Justin Pawlak, consistently atop the leader board. Pawlak took second in the championship.
Falken’s Tyler McQuarrie
successfully attacked the competition at the “Title Fight” and earned
the final win of the season, the fifth victory out of seven for Team
Falken in 2011. As a result, McQuarrie moved up to finish sixth in the
standings. Teammates Darren McNamara took fourth overall, while defending Formula Drift Champion Vaughn Gittin Jr. placed 11th.


Subscribe to Racing News Subscribe to Racing News