Legislation to allow the issuance, at the option of the vehicle owner, of only a single rear-mounted license plate died when the legislature adjourned for the year. The bill had not been given committee consideration.
Legislation to allow the issuance of a single license plate for special-interest motor vehicles was signed into law by Governor Dennis Daugaard.
Legislation to require new-car dealers to provide purchasers a written statement declaring it is illegal for manufacturers or dealers to void a warranty or deny coverage because aftermarket or recycled parts were installed or because someone other than the dealer performed service was introduced.
Legislation to provide for the issuance (for an annual $100 fee) of a single license plate for passenger cars which were not originally equipped with a bracket on the front of the vehicle to display a plate was signed into law by Governor Pete Ricketts.
Legislation has been reintroduced in the California Senate by Senator Ted Gaines to exempt all motor vehicles prior to the ’81 model year from the emissions-inspection requirement.
Urge your legislators to pass the RPM Act, which clarifies that it has always been legal to modify a street vehicle into a racecar used exclusively at the track.
UPDATE: JUNE 6, 2016 – While the EPA has withdrawn the proposal, the agency continues to assert authority under the Clean Air Act to regulate the modification of vehicles used for competition. Congressional action is the ONLY way to guarantee that street vehicles can continue to be modified for the track, well into the future.
Washington, DC (March 8, 2016) – SEMA President and CEO Chris Kersting today praised Congressional members for their introduction of a bipartisan bill that would protect thousands of American racecar enthusiasts from overreaching U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) regulations.
Legislation to allow the issuance of a single license plate for special-interest motor vehicles was approved by the South Dakota Legislature.
Legislation to provide for the issuance (for an annual $100 fee) of a single license plate for passenger cars which were not originally equipped with a bracket on the front of the vehicle to display a plate was approved by the Nebraska State Legislature.