Board of Directors

Paul "Scooter" Brothers

Scooter Brothers, SEMA Chairman, COMP Performance GroupPaul “Scooter” Brothers is co-owner and Chief Operating Officer of COMP Performance Group, which includes Competition Cams, Inc, Quartermaster Clutches, and TCI Automotive, LLC. Scooter is currently the Chairman of the Board of SEMA, and previously served three full terms on the SEMA Board of Directors. He took an active position as the chairman of the Technology Task Force to strengthen the Industry’s position with the OE’s.  He is actively involved with SEMA staff dealing with the difficult issue of titling special vehicles in California. He was honored as the 2002 SEMA Person of the year and was inducted into the SEMA Hall of Fame in 2005. He was honored with the Vanguard award from YEN, and the Athena award from SEMA Business Women’s Group.
Scooter’s experience at every level allows him to understand the difficult problems facing all of SEMA’s membership, from the manufacturer all the way to the consumer. As a member of the SEMA Technical Committee, his industry influence and experience was instrumental in enabling SEMA to reach a breakthrough agreement with Ford that resulted in the SEMA Technology Transfer Program as it exists today.
Since Scooter spent most of his career in the “trenches” he brought a unique and practical prospective to the SEMA Board. His 20-year involvement in SAE has resulted in him being an active charter member of the SAE Motorsports Council. He is very involved with NHRA and NASCAR and other sanctioning bodies to help insure the long term strength of these organizations and the racers. Scooter is on the Board of Directors of the National Engine Parts Manufacturers Association, a group of service replacement parts manufacturers. He also is very involved with several universities, helping them develop a curriculum that will properly educate students for the performance industry. He regularly visits schools and universities talking to the students and trying to recruit them into the SEMA industry.

SEMA 2011-2012 Bylaws Vote


Recently the SEMA board of directors asked
each member company to participate in a decision to amend the SEMA bylaws. The
motion was put to a vote, as per SEMA bylaws, and voting concluded on January

Votes were tallied and certified by outside
agency Survey & Ballot Systems. Over 94% of SEMA members voted for the motion
as recommended by the board. The affirmative vote will enable the following

SEMA Announces Board of Directors Election Results

Nate Shelton of B&M Automotive Group has been elected chairman-elect of the Specialty Equipment Market Association (SEMA) and will join five newly elected Board members to help lead the association in the 2011–2012 term. Shelton will fill the position that was held for the past two years by Scooter Brothers of Comp Performance Group. Brothers begins serving his role as Chairman at the association’s summer board meeting in July. The newly elected Board volunteers include Tim Martin of K&N Engineering; Steve Wolcott of ProMedia LLC; Jim Chick of Bestop Inc.; J.R. Moore of Performance Warehouse; and Greg Adler of Transamerican Auto Parts.

The 2011–2013 SEMA Board of Directors Candidates

Nineteen industry professionals are vying for a position on the 2011–2013 SEMA Board of Directors. The SEMA Board provides strategic direction to the association and plays a critical role in shaping the future of the automotive specialty-equipment industry. Election materials were mailed to the primary contacts at eligible SEMA-member companies within the corresponding categories May 17. The voting process, which is entirely electronic this year, will be ongoing until voting closes June 14. Election results will be published in an upcoming issue of SEMA News.

Doug Evans; Source Interlink Media and Nate Shelton; B&M Automotive Group


Subscribe to Board of Directors