Top 10 Stories From Our Archives
Washington Attempt to Restrict Access to Collector License Plates Amended, Signed Into Law
Legislation that originally sought to increase the age requirement for vehicles eligible for registration as “collector vehicles” was signed into law by Washington State Governor Christine Gregoire. Under the new law, vehicles seeking registration as collector vehicles and the one-time registration fee would still only be required to be at least 30 years old—not 40 years old as the original bill required. The law also deletes provisions that would have created penalties for violating the limited-use provisions. However, the measure still requires the Department of Licensing to establish a method for law enforcement to readily access collector vehicle information using the collector vehicle’s plate number, which will aid in ensuring a plate is being used on its properly assigned vehicle.
For details, contact Steve McDonald at firstname.lastname@example.org.